Ind-w vs Aus-w: 1st Historic Victory Indian Women’s Cricket Team Triumphs Over Australia in Test Match

Ind-w vs Aus-w match highlights: In a landmark moment for Indian women’s cricket, history was created on Thursday, December 21, 2023, as the Indian women’s team secured their first-ever Test victory against the formidable Australian side. The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai witnessed a thrilling encounter as Australia won the toss and chose to bat in a match that would be etched in the memories of cricket enthusiasts for years to come.

Ind-w vs Aus-w
Ind-w vs Aus-w

Australia Women Team Players

Australia Women Playing Squad – Beth Mooney, Phoebe Litchfield, Ellyse Perry, Tahlia McGrath, Alyssa Healy (c & wk), Annabel Sutherland, Ashleigh Gardner, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Kim Garth, Lauren Cheatle

Australia Women Bench Squad – Darcie Brown, Megan Schutt, Heather Graham, Georgia Wareham

India Women Team Players

India Women Playing Squad – Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Richa Ghosh, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Pooja Vastrakar, Renuka Thakur Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

India Women Bench Squad – Shubha Satheesh, Meghna Singh, Harleen Deol, Saika Ishaque, Titas Sadhu

Ind-w vs Aus-w Test – First Inning

The Australian women’s team, batting first, faced an early setback with openers Phoebe Litchfield and Ellyse Perry departing within the first two overs. Despite the rocky start, they managed to put up a respectable total of 219 runs in their first innings. Tahlia McGrath emerged as the top scorer with a valuable 50 runs, supported by Captain Healy’s 38 runs and Kim Garth’s crucial 28 runs at the bottom. Pooja Vastrakar led the Indian bowling attack with a stellar performance, taking 4 wickets, while Sneh Rana and Deepti Sharma contributed with 3 and 2 wickets, respectively.

India’s First Inning

In response, India started their innings on a positive note, thanks to the solid performances of openers Shafali Verma and Smriti Mandhana, scoring 40 and 74 runs, respectively. The middle order continued the momentum, with Richa Ghosh adding 52 runs, Jemimah Rodrigues contributing 73 runs, and Deepti Sharma anchoring the bottom order with the highest score of 78 runs. From the Australian bowling side, Gardner claimed 4 wickets, while Kim Garth and Sutherland took 2 wickets each. India posted a significant total, setting the stage for a thrilling contest.

Australia’s Second Innings

In their second innings, Australia displayed resilience with openers providing a solid start, accumulating 49 runs without losing a wicket. Tahlia McGrath stood out with the highest score of 73 runs, and Ellyse Perry added a valuable 45 runs. Sneh Rana shone once again for India, taking 4 crucial wickets, while Captain Harmanpreet Kaur broke a solid partnership after 9 years in Test cricket by dismissing McGrath. Gayakwad and Pooja Vastrakar contributed with 2 and 1 wicket, respectively, limiting Australia to 261 runs.

India’s Historic Chase

Chasing a target of 75 runs for victory, India displayed composure, losing only 2 wickets in the process. Smriti Mandhana top-scored with 38 runs, guiding the team to a historic triumph. This victory marked India’s first-ever Test win against Australia, and the jubilation echoed across the cricketing fraternity.

Also Watch : India vs South Africa Series 2023 Highlights | Test, ODI and T20 Squad

Player of the Match

Sneh Rana was rightfully awarded the Player of the Match for her exceptional bowling performance, claiming a total of 7 wickets in the match and playing a pivotal role in India’s historic win.

Also Read : India vs South Africa 3rd ODI Highlights: India Triumphs in Thrilling Decider


The Indian women’s cricket team’s historic victory against Australia is a testament to their skill, determination, and resilience. This triumph will undoubtedly inspire a new generation of cricketers and elevate the status of women’s cricket on the global stage. As the cricketing world celebrates this historic moment, it opens up exciting possibilities for the future of women’s Test cricket in India.

Check : India Women vs Australia Women, Only Test – Cricket Score

Leave a comment