DRS New Controversies Shake Up World Cup 2023

DRS (Decision Review System) Controversies Heats Up in the Ongoing World Cup 2023 with Differing Opinions Among Cricketers.

drs world cup controversy

DRS – Decesion Review System Controversies

Steve Smith Disbelief at the DRS

Also Read: Latest Points Table of Cricket World Cup 2023

In the 2023 World Cup match between Australia and South Africa, the decision involving Steve Smith stirred controversy, as the on-field decision was reversed through the DRS. Initially, to the naked eye, it appeared that the ball was moving towards the leg side. However, the replay provided a different perspective, with the DRS indicating that all three aspects were in favor of the dismissal.

Marcus Stoinis out Decision after DRS

In the same match Stoinis was dismissed for five runs, caught down the leg-side off Kagiso Rabada, which left Australia at 70-6 in their challenging pursuit of 312 for victory. Some replays suggested that the ball might have made contact with Stoinis’ glove while it was not in contact with the bat.

David Warner expressed his frustration on DRS

Australian batsman David Warner expressed his frustration when he was adjudged LBW (Leg Before Wicket) during a crucial match against Sri Lanka in the ICC ODI World Cup 2023.

During an over bowled by Dilshan Madushanka, which began with a maiden, Warner found himself struck on the pads by the very first delivery. The Australian opener firmly believed that he was not out and promptly decided to request the Decision Review System (DRS) after the on-field umpire gave him out LBW. To Warner’s immense disappointment, the third umpire upheld the on-field decision, resulting in a surprising turn of events.

Van der Dussen, clearly dissatisfied with the DRS

During the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 match between Pakistan and South Africa. Rassie van der Dussen faced a delivery that struck his pads, prompting the entire Pakistan team to appeal. On-field umpire Paul Reifel, in response to the appeal, raised his finger to signal that the South African batsman was out.

Van der Dussen, clearly dissatisfied with the decision, promptly opted for DRS. A technical glitch caused the ball tracking system to load automatically, showing the ball missing the stumps. In a surprising turn of events, a few seconds later, the ball tracking was employed once more. On this occasion, it revealed the impact on the stumps to be ‘umpire’s call.’ As a result, Van der Dussen was declared out.

An ICC spokesperson commented on match between South Africa and Pakistan, noting that there was an error in the DRS (Decision Review System) review of Rassie van der Dussen. Initially, an incomplete graphic was mistakenly displayed, causing some confusion. However, the corrected graphic with the accurate details was subsequently presented, ensuring a fair and accurate review process.

Tabraiz Shamsi DRS Critical Factor in Match’s Result.

In a nail-biting chase of 271, South Africa found themselves with just one wicket remaining. In a pivotal moment, Tabraiz Shamsi faced a tense LBW (Leg Before Wicket) appeal from Haris Rauf. Initially, the on-field umpire gave a ‘not out’ decision, adding to the tension. The stakes grew higher when a determined Rauf decided to challenge the decision through a DRS review. However, the ‘Umpire’s Call’ marginally favored Shamsi, ultimately proving to be a critical factor in the match’s outcome.

Joe Root Expresses Displeasure at DRS

During England’s pursuit of a target against India, Joe Root took to the crease after Dawid Malan’s dismissal. India’s Jasprit Bumrah delivered a full-length ball that landed around the off and middle stump. The ball made contact with Root’s pads, leading to the on-field umpire raising his finger to signal the batsman’s Out.

In an attempt to contest the decision, Joe Root chose to utilize the Decision Review System (DRS) after a quick consultation with Jonny Bairstow. The DRS review included a close examination of the UltraEdge, which revealed a slight spike as the ball approached the bat. However, the pivotal decision rested with the third umpire, Ahsan Raza, who concluded that there was no contact between the ball and the bat.

Joe Root expressed his strong disagreement with this ruling, and his frustration was visibly evident.

5 thoughts on “DRS New Controversies Shake Up World Cup 2023”

Leave a comment